New Institutionalism - 17th Workshop Madrid 2021
Reminder: Call for Papers: 8th New Institutionalism Workshop

ESADE Ramon Llull University
15 - 16 March 2012
Barcelona, Spain

To gain inspiration for its 8th workshop, the new institutionalism network is moving to the vibrant city of Barcelona and counts with Woody Powell from Stanford University for the Key Note address. Hosted at ESADE Business School, the workshop seeks to bring together kindred spirits from different disciplines, countries and academic systems who share interest in pushing forward theoretical and/or empirical frontiers of institutional research.

The workshop does not have a specific thematic, methodological or conceptual focus. Further, it is not about presenting completed papers that are about to be submitted or have already been sent to major international conferences or journals. It is an open space for meeting and conversation around bold new ideas about institutional research. Thus, participants are expected to be present throughout the workshop and actively contribute to the discussions.

We welcome work that brings forward novel topics, employs innovative methods and/or advances fresh perspectives of inquiry that drift away from or challenge present mainstream themes and/or approaches to institutional research. We are especially keen to give room to authentic voices of authors who do not belong to the standard list of institutional theory references and/or draw on literature that is not available in English. Also, in line with the new institutionalism network spirit, the workshop encourages collaboration, particularly among scholars drawing on or bridging different disciplines.

We look forward to receiving submissions of advanced research as well as work in progress or at the stage of planning by experienced academics, early career scholars and PhD students, and engaging in fruitful discussions during the workshop.

Submissions (extended abstract or full paper) should be sent to no later than November 15, 2011. More details about the workshop can be found at

ESADE Organizing Committee
Silviya Svejenova (Chair), José Luis Alvarez, Jaime Bonache, Francois Collet, and Luis Vives
New Institutionalism Network
Georg Krücken (German University of Administrative Sciences Speyer), Renate Meyer (WU Wirtschaftsuniversität Vienna and Copenhagen Business School), and Peter Walgenbach (Friedrich Schiller University of Jena)